Herculaneu…where?

I’m really proud of myself this week.

When I decided to change the setting of The Descendants, I thought for sure that I would have to go back and rewrite the chapters I already had. Specifically anything regarding Herculaneum. And then I had an epiphany. It occurred to me that I could leave all the Herculaneum stuff in, because the town they end up in in the new world could be Herculaneum too. Also, it helps show Tesni that she doesn’t know everything, and that her family hasn’t been as up front with her as she thought they were.

Also, the favorite character I mentioned last week? The one that keeps insisting on showing up earlier and earlier? Yeah, he did it again. Now Vivian sees him in a crowd, and the fact that he is wearing chain mail tips her off that this isn’t the Roman era that she and Tesni thought it was.

Gotta love those characters who insist on doing things their way.

In addition to tall that I finished another short story to publish under my pen name. I’m waiting for a friend to read it and give me her thoughts on it and then I’m hoping that I’ll be able to release it early next month.

Anywho, it’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for another WIPpet Snippet.

WIPpet Wednesday is run by the lovely Emily Witt. In order to participate, all you have to do is post a snippet on your blog of something that you are working on that some how relates to the date, and then add a link to your blog to the ring at the end of this post.

Since today is the 27th of July, here are 7 sentences from that scene I mentioned earlier. This takes place in chapter 8, so it happens a good deal earlier than the snippet I shared last week.

Vivian continued to look around, taking it all in. And then the figure of a tall man  pushing through the crowd at the far end of the fountain caught her eye. Where the others were tan and dark headed, he was pale with curly red hair. His clothing was also heavier than everyone else’s, consisting of a simple tunic and pants. He had tall leather bracelets on both arms that stretched from his wrist to his elbow. They were decorated with intricate carvings and metal links that gleamed in the sunlight. “Did they have chain mail in Roman times?”

To read more WIPpet Wednesdays, or to share your WIPpet link, go here

14 thoughts on “Herculaneu…where?

  1. AM says:

    Ooh, interesting. Looks like Vivian’s getting some important clues here. I love things like a character who keeps insisting on showing up whenever he feels like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. patgarcia says:

    You have described this scene very well and I love the way you end it with Vivian asking a question. “Did they have chain mail in Roman times? It holds the reader and makes him or her think.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Like

  3. ReGi McClain says:

    Oh! I like this idea of thinking they’re in the Roman era and then learning they’re not. It makes me want to know what era they ARE in.

    Woohoo! on being able to keep stuff you thought you’d have to cut! That’s always a relief.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Eden says:

    There was a kind of connected-ring armor that some Germanic tribes used in Roman times, and after the Romans had invaded Gaul and the Rhine valley, there were Germanic tribe members who served in the Roman Legions.
    (I know Wikipedia is the BEST source, but this article has some great reference links in it. Also, keep in mind, the Eutruscans that are mentioned existed BEFORE Rome was a nation.)

    Sorry to have to add to your work… but I’ve spent a LOT of time researching armor lately (as in the past twelve years… :-/ ).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

