Rewards

About a week or so ago there was a thing that went around on Facebook showing someone’s study reward system. Basically they had put candy bars after every chapter – which is pretty clever. Unfortunately since my classes are done online, and I have an ebook instead of a text book, I can’t really do that.

So I’ve been giving myself a 5 to 15 minute break to write instead. 5 minutes after every section is finished, 15 after every chapter is done. And maybe an extra 5 to 10 depending on how well I do on the end of chapter quizzes.

I’m pretty proud of myself for thinking of it. If I hadn’t, I would only be able to write on Saturdays – and I’d probably go crazy as a result. The only downside is that with my writing being broken up, it’s hard to stay focused on one story. I’ve been bouncing from Descendants to Undying Ones, from this fanfic to that fanfic, or from tidbit to tidbit. But at least it’s something.

Anywho, it’s Wednesday. So that means it’s time for another WIPpet snippet!

I’ve been working a bit on scenes for a future book in the Descendants this week. I blame that entirely on seeing Suicide Squad and Terminator Genisys this weekend – both of which star Jai Courtney, who I’ve cast in my head as the romantic lead for the series. It really didn’t help that Terminator also starred Emilia Clarke, an actress I sometimes picture as Vivian (with her natural hair color – not the pale blonde wig she wears as the mother of dragons)

Since today is the 31st, here are 4 paragraphs from that scene I’ve been tinkering with. Because it takes place far in the future, I’ve left out names to prevent spoiling anything. It’s also pretty nano rough. Even though I could picture it perfectly in my head, it just didn’t want to transfer to paper well.

“I’m sorry,” Vivian said. “For yelling at you downstairs. Since this whole mess started, I’ve just been so focused on myself – just trying to survive – that I didn’t stop to think what it must have been like for you. How it must have felt to see me going out with other guys … you must hate me.”

“I don’t hate you.” He sighed. “I wanted to, but I couldn’t. I was mad for a long time though. A very long time. Especially after how things ended. But I’m just as guilty for this mess as you are. I shouldn’t have tried to keep you there. You made it clear from the beginning that your priority was getting yourself and your friends back home. And I shouldn’t hold your behavior from when you were younger against you. As frustrating as it was… you had no idea who I was. How could I expect you to uphold a vow you hadn’t even made yet?”

“Vows that we lied about to begin with. We never stood in front of a priest remember? You just said we were married to protect me.”

“Right.” He glanced away, his jaw line shifting as he clenched his teeth together. She wondered how much longer she would be able to see his jaw for. He already had a fine layer of scruff covering his cheeks and chin. She didn’t mind as long as he kept it under control, it was just strange to see him transitioning back to his old self. Like a snake shedding it’s skin, just in reverse. “Just… whatever happens, between you and me, just know that I will always be there for you. I love you. Always have. Always will.”

To participate in WIPpet Wednesday, all you need to do is post a snippet of what you are working on that somehow relates to todays date on your blog. Then join the blog hop here.

9 thoughts on “Rewards

  1. Eden says:

    Sounds like he was hoping and believing in the vow more than she was… I kind of feel sorry for him here. Then again… Vivian has always struck me as being a bit self-involved. Not a bad thing, but definitely a “there” thing/

    And I SO here you on the whole “it sounded great in my head” bit. If I could write the way I see the story in my head… I’d be making millions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ceeleeolson says:

      In Vivian’s defense something fairly traumatic happened just a bit before this scene, she also just learned that some people she considered family have been lying to her for years, and she really had no idea who the guy she is talking to was. She had her suspicions, but figured she was either crazy or it was a figment of her imagination.

      And God yes, if there was some sort of tool to snap on our heads that just zapped the story out of our heads, life would be so much easier!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

